What are APIs and How You Can Use Them.

Also: I made a dollars to yen converter, OpenAI unveils "Sora", and more...

This week in A Machine w/ Jace you will receive a technical introduction to application programming interfaces (APIs), the bridges between applications. Make sure to check out the example where I built a live converter from USD (Dollars $) to JPY (Japanese Yen ¥) in 30 minutes using a free API.

🎂 Check out the wrap-up to see my adventures in San Diego, California for my birthday!

Skip Ahead

Catch up on A.I. assistants, assistance, announcements, and amusement with A Machine. This weekly email will teach you about Automation & A.I. business tech.

NEWS
Bite-sized Automation & AI headlines.

generated by Sora

📽️ OpenAI unveils "Sora", a hyper-realistic AI video generator, pushing the boundaries of digital media with unprecedented creativity and realism.

☁️ Windborn leads in AI weather forecasting, enhancing prediction accuracy and reliability, and marking progress in technology's role in environmental science.

🚁 Rotor Technologies unveils autonomous helicopters, boosting safety and efficiency in high-risk missions, and marking a leap in aviation technology.

LESSON
The Great API Information Bridge 🌉 

if only it were as simple as plug and play…

So… What Are APIs? 
APIs (Application Programming Interfaces) are software intermediaries that allow two applications to communicate with each other. APIs work through a set of protocols that define how applications communicate. A request is sent to an API endpoint (usually requiring access credentials like an “API key”), and in response, the API sends back data or performs an action.

Types of APIs
Most APIs fall under a few different standards, here are some of the most common. For a more complete list read here.

  • Open APIs: Publicly accessible and designed for broader developer communities, enabling external users to access and interact with an application's data or functionalities.

  • Partner APIs: Restricted access APIs that require specific rights or subscriptions, like a membership or pay-by-use.

Common API Protocols
Similar to types, most APIs are developed on these protocols, below are important and popular options. To learn more about protocol types read here.

Why You Should Use APIs
APIs enable rapid, cost-effective app development and automation solutions, allowing for quick prototyping. Now, using new strategies like prompt engineering with AI alongside prebuilt code libraries and APIs gives the solo developer or any team more power and creative ability than ever.

In the example below, I show off just how much power the solo developer holds using API’s ⬇️ 

EXAMPLE
I Built A Live Dollar 🇺🇸 to Yen 🇯🇵 Converter in 30 Minutes.

this is my live converter

The idea was simple, in 1 month I will be visiting Japan and I will need a consistent, accurate way to understand the value of my foreign money. Using 1 free API I built it in half an hour. Here’s how I did it.

Phase 1: Planning
Define a goal, decide what tools and resources you will use, and then outline a plan. This can all be figured out using Google and ChatGPT. For this project, I used GitHub Pages for live hosting, ExchangeRateAPI for the price conversion, and Git/GitHub for my version control system (VCS). Finally, set up the project environment and any necessary codespaces

Phase 2: Development
I use Visual Studio Code for my integrated development environment (IDE), and I use ChatGPT with Prompt Engineering to develop my code and make large changes quickly. In development, I opt for rapid prototype testing, where I revise the product over many iterations in a short amount of time.

Fantastic! While Google and many others have tools that can accomplish this and more, the purpose of this project was to learn about APIs in a fun and practical manner that I can take with me on my upcoming trip 🏝️ 

NETWORK & CERTIFICATIONS
Curated Virtual Opportunities 🌐 

pop out into the tech scene

Virtual Networking 🧑‍🤝‍🧑 

Feb 22 - Reserve free tickets to the Pennsylvania Virtual Job Fair by CareerTown.AI connecting you with a wide range of job opportunities across various industries.

Virtual Course of the Week 📚️ 

Get started with APIs today using freecodecamp’s APIs for Beginners Video Course.

AI TOOL SPOTLIGHT
3 AI Tools to Boost Your Productivity

Replika: Gain valuable insights and emotional support by chatting with Replika, your AI companion for meaningful conversations.

Lyrebird: Replicate voices with impeccable accuracy using just one minute of recorded audio.

Sidekick: Enhance your meeting scheduling efficiency by seamlessly integrating with Google Calendars.

Please Reply to these emails with feedback or any topics you are interested in.

AI is one of the most important things humanity is working on. It is more profound than, I dunno, electricity or fire.

Sundar Pichai

WRAP UP
See you scholars next week 🧑‍🎓 

This article was very educational to make! I was excited and encouraged by the quick progress I was making with APIs and enjoyed the outcome of my project.

FYI: This past week I’ve been in San Diego, California, one of my favorite places in the entire world. Here are some memories:

catamaran cruisin’ ⛵️ 

kate sessions park bubble blowin 🫧 

santee boulders barefoot climbs 👣 

Thanks for reading,
See you Monday!